Mark Cuban goes full Mark Cuban on talk about Prejudice

Cuban

This Wednesday in Nashville, Tenn. Mark Cuban promised the crowd at the Annual GrowCo, hosted by Inc. Magazine that he was about to go “full Mark Cuban” on a subject. Well, that subject was on the Donald Sterling case and how everyone in the NBA is prejudice, owners and all. At least he warned everyone, right?

His most viral words have to be the ones on the topic of Bigotry: “I know I’m prejudiced and I know I’m bigoted in a lot of different ways,” he said. “If I see a black kid in a hoodie on my side of the street, I’ll move to the other side of the street. If I see a white guy with a shaved head and tattoos, I’ll move back to the other side of the street. None of us have pure thoughts; we all live in glass houses.” He continues on in another question about the Donald Sterling vote. He told everyone that he’s not ready to commit on his vote to force Sterling out of the league. Saying; “You’ll find out. I know how I’m going to vote, but I’m not ready to comment on it.”

When the Donald Sterling recording surfaced last month with the deranged comments he had made to his girlfriend, Cuban showed signs of wanting to oust Sterling and make sure he’s never allowed in the league. But honestly, it’s Mark Cuban, what did you expect? For his vote to come easy and his mind never to be changed? That’s not Mark Cuban, or not the Mark I’ve come to know and have a love/hate relationship with.

Cuban then sat down with Inc. Magazine for an additional interview to discuss the comments he has made on the Sterling case and even hints a bit at what his vote may be. One of his quotes being, “In this day and age, this country has really come a long way, putting any type of bigotry behind us, regardless of who it’s towards, whether it’s the LGBT community, whether it’s xenophobia, fear of people from other countries,” Cuban said in the interview. “We’ve come a long way, and with that progress comes a price where … we’re a lot less tolerant of different views. And it’s not necessarily easy for everybody to adopt or adapt or evolve.”

He also starts bringing up how he handles these bigotry cases at the companies he owns. He says he would rather send these parties saying the comments to sensitivity training “to give them a chance to improve themselves” than “kick the problem down the road, because it does my company no good, it does my customers no good, it does society no good if my response to somebody and their racism or bigotry is to say, ‘It’s not right for you to be here, go take your attitude somewhere else.’ “ I don’t think this comment really applies to Sterling because of his history, but he has the right way of thinking when it comes to the regular working day man. Do you agree? D you disagree? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

