Brandons’ Starters – Weekly recap of my Fantasy Football adventure

Fantasy

Hello all, and welcome to my new weekly series I like to call “Brandons Starters.” This is where I will talk about my experiences in this season of Fantasy Football. As well as some advice on what I think may be a good idea, either from pickups from the Waiver-Wire or just Starters in general. Well, shall we get started?

My roster consists of these players:

  • Drew Brees
  • Matt Ryan
  • Andre Ellington
  • Le’Veon Bell
  • Jonathon Dwyer
  • Knowshon Moreno
  • Calvin Johnson
  • Antonio Brown
  • Percy Harvin
  • Emmanuel Sanders
  • Jason Witten
  • Kyle Rudolph
  • DeMarco Murray
  • Stephen Gostkowski
  • Carolina Panthers

This week in my neighborhood league I played my neighbor, who we will call Tim. Tim had Cam Newton in his lineup days before we new of any seriousness to his ribs, I kept track of him to let him know if anything would happen to him, but he said he was also, so I figured he was good. Well, long story short, he started him and I still only beat him by 40 points. It wasn’t all rainbows and sunshine for me, either. On the Thursday I heard Andre Ellington, my 3rd round pick had apparently hurt his foot, and it may have been bad.. So i was scrambling, picked up Jonathon Dwyer(don’t recommend him) off waivers just to be safe. But just like that, my guardian angel was looking out for me. My Dad(who is also in this league) for some reason dropped Le’Veon Bell and I put him in as my number 1 Running Back and oh boy, did that save me.

Starting Drew Brees seemed like the best idea, right? Well, having Matty Ice on the bench may have costed me this weeks win if Tim had started his backup, Jay Cutler, instead of fractured rib Newton. Drafting Antonio Brown and Calvin Johnson as my Wide Receiver duo is just perfect. Matthew Stafford showed on Monday that no matter where, when and how, he can get the ball to Calvin; nobody is safe from Megatron. Brown doing the Karate Kid impersonation on the Browns punter was great. Percy in the flex this week was great and he showed, when healthy, he is a force to reckon with. But leaving Knowson on the bench hurt a little, too. Loved him in Denver and glad to see he may be getting more touches than Lammar Miller. Jason Witten I couldn’t blame too much. Romo was just AWFUL this week. Like.. I can’t even put to words, but I’m hoping he gets better because I think I’m going to be dumping Kyle Rudolph for Kelvin Benjamin(if he’s on your wavier-wire, pick him up! Cam needs somebody to throw to and this guy looked like a stud).

Either way you look at it, I was bailed out this week. This is the Final for the week.

Capture8

And as you can see, it wasn’t all that close, but it could have been much closer he subbed Cutler or Cam played. I mean, Julius Thomas himself brought Tim within 20 points at one point. But thank god for Calvin Johnson. Next week should be a lot more fun. I play my neighbors wife(?) and we’ll call her, Tammi. Tammi is a Sophomore to Fantasy Football(just as I am) but does not watch near as much football as I do. So this should be fun, her team is pretty stacked as well. AND she knows how to sub in-and-out players! As well as starting next week, I have a league starting with my girlfriend that I finally convinced to play Fantasy Football with me. I shall be recapping that as well. Hope everybody has a great fantasy week ahead of them and if you need any help or advice on players or game match-ups, let me know in the comments! See you next week!

Leave a Reply

